2014 UD Conference Greats (Card Show Box 1!)

I had several requests to see what I actually pulled from my card show boxes, so here’s the first!  This product features SEC players from their college days and a couple select coaches.  The main reason I picked up this box is that some woman I’m married to is a big Tennessee fan…  (I love you, baby!)  She is particularly fond of some QB who played there, and he was well represented in this box.  More on that in a minute, though.  First, some notable base and parallels (including a few 90’s players!):

 

There are also short print cards with foil backgrounds. 

 

As I mentioned, plenty of Vols cards, including the de facto mayor of Knoxville. 

There are three hits per box with at least one auto.  Don’t know much about Stoerner, but the gold auto looks great, even on a sticker.  Lorenzen is a veritable folk hero, too!  (I’ll leave the fat jokes alone, though this was the thickest card in the box.)

 

Each box also has a jumbo box topper, which is pretty cool, but an awkward size.  Basically a booklet, but one flat piece.  Some are even autographs and count as a bonus hit, like this: 

 

I didn’t recognize that name at all, until I pulled this card:

 

Chris Davis, it turns out, was the guy who returned the ill-advised long FG attempt by ‘Bama for the stunning, Saban-humbling, game-stealing TD in the 2013 Iron Bowl.  That really took the jumbo auto to a whole new level – a bonus hit featuring the guy who pulled off a play that was the stuff of college football legend!  This card is also the perfect demonstration of what’s great about this set – celebrating the brief, unforgettable careers of the best to play the college game. 

   

6 Comments

Filed under Product Post

6 responses to “2014 UD Conference Greats (Card Show Box 1!)

  1. Sport Card Collectors

    Awesome box topper! Love it! I didn’t know those came signed too. Great hit. Stoener was a Cowboys QB I believe. Nice Lorenzen. Good ole Hefty Lefty! And I always like the school pride cards

  2. Jon Lavezza

    I SOOOO want your duplicates , I PC NCAA logo football cards only

  3. Alex

    What do you suppose is the best way to protect that auto jumbo box topper? I know that there is a booklet top loader but it’s way too thick. There’s also sleeves for booklet cards but that won’t add much more than surface protection. I was thinking about using the sleeves and the ticket holders but I’m not too sure how well that would work. Do you have any thoughts?

    • That’s a great question! I have mine in two penny sleeves and out of harm’s way as best I can right now, but working on a better way to protect it. I agree that the booklet top loader really doesn’t quite do the trick. Let me know if you come up with anything!

  4. I guess I need to look for that Chris Davis return card. I’m a WVU alum but Auburn is my “other woman.” I remember where I was when that play happened.

Leave a Reply

